Why Oat milk is amazing

Daisy Marron
2 min readNov 11, 2020

--

Recently, I’ve been experimenting with dairy alternatives. I’m not vegan or lactose intolerant, just interested. I just tried making oat milk and it is the best thing ever. It tastes like oats, sure, but it also tastes more like milk than a lot of other products.

I started by following this recipe on Minimalist Baker: https://minimalistbaker.com/make-oat-milk/

And let me tell you, it worked like a charm. My methods may differ a bit from that of the website, so I’ll tell you what I did. I made a half batch, but I intend to make more soon.

  1. Take a ratio of 1 oats and 4water, and put them in a blender
  2. Blend for about 30 seconds
  3. Use a regular sieve to strain out the chunky stuff (keep the chunks! They are delicious.)
  4. Use a tea strainer to strain out the fine stuff
  5. Refrigerate and drink!

There are several things about this that I love. When making other milk alternatives like, say, hemp milk, when you’ve strained it, you have this hemp mass that unusable and slightly disgusting. With this oat milk, you can eat the leftover oats. My personal favorite way to eat them is with raisins, cinnamon, and a pinch of sugar, and then heated up in the microwave for a bit.

Another zero-waste element that I love about oat milk is that oats are something that you can do so much with, other than just make milk. Reverting back to our hemp example, you probably don’t eat just… hemp (although if you do, I’m not judging you). You can make cookies with oats, make oat cakes, make muesli, or even just cook them.

Something else about oat milk that rocks my world is that oat milk tastes like real milk. If you add a touch of sugar to add the natural sweetness that milk has, and it will taste like slightly oat-y cow’s milk.

If you like the flavor of oats and/or milk, or if you just want to try something new, oat milk might be for you!

--

--

Daisy Marron
0 Followers

Hi! I'm a student who likes to write/blog for fun. Jane Austen is my idol.